Collections Advisory Committee


FAU Libraries

Collections Advisory Committee

Sustainable Access to Scholarly Resources for Teaching, Learning, and Research



This FAU Libraries Collections Advisory Committee (CAC), chaired by the Dean of Libraries or other appropriate library administrator, is charged with recommending to the Libraries Administration the broad principles, criteria, and/or processes to be applied when reducing or adding scholarly resources (particularly electronic journals and databases) to support student and faculty learning, teaching, and research needs.


The CAC shall:

1. In light of significant current and projected scholarly resource deficits, identify strategies that aim to balance the resources budget through a sustainable combination of one-time purchases, annual licenses, purchase-on-demand, interlibrary loan, and open access content. Recommend transparent guidelines and processes that will result in balanced collections budgets. 

2. Recommend an annual process for possible cuts to journal packages. Recommendations should seek to minimize to the extent possible negative impacts on the FAU undergraduate and graduate education, but also on faculty recruitment, retention, research, and the concepts laid out in FAU’s A Strategic Plan for the Race to Excellence, 2015-2025.

3. Recommend principles or criteria to guide the acquisition of additional scholarly resources, should funds become available, to support new or expanding academic programs, curricula, and/or research interests.

4. Garner the support of faculty colleagues by advocating for the Libraries, including during budgetary crisis and while challenging publishers on unfair tactics and pricing models.



1. One or two faculty members per college, appointed by their Dean. If two, the members will be from different departments. Each College will have only one vote when votes are necessary.

2. The Head of Collection Management at FAU Libraries, or designee.

3. The Libraries’ Dean or her designee. 


2019-2020 Membership

  • Maris Hayashi, Chair (Libraries)

  • Clifford Brown (Arts & Letters)

  • Don Neubaum (Business)

  • Rebel Cole (Business)

  • Jesse Saginor (Design & Social Inquiry)

  • Cristobal Salinas (Education)

  • Hongbo Su (Engineering)

  • Tsung-Chow “Joe” Su (Engineering)Steven Lewis (Medicine)

  • Salvatore Lepore (Science)

  • Tiffany Briggs (Science)

Links to background information and selected presentations made to Faculty Senate or other faculty bodies can be found on the Library Collections page at: 

Carol Hixson,
Aug 8, 2018, 12:36 PM
Carol Hixson,
Feb 25, 2019, 7:15 AM
Carol Hixson,
Feb 25, 2019, 7:19 AM